Spread the love

MOBO Awards 2017 Winner: Goodluck Jonathan, Ben Bruce hail Wizkid

MOBO awards

Former President of Nigeria, Goodluck Ebele Jonathan and the Senator representing Bayelsa East senatorial district, Ben Murray-Bruce, both applauded music star, Ayo Balogun, otherwise known as Wizkid for defeating famous American rapper, Jay-Z, Drake and others to win the Best International Act at this year’s MOBO awards held in Leeds at the First Direct Arena.

The Nigerian artiste floored famous names like Jay-Z, Cardi B,Kendrick Lamar and others to clinch the best international artiste award at the MOBO Awards 2017.

The former president in a statement on his Facebook wall,wrote congratulatory post for Wizkid for taking Nigeria to greater heights.

He wrote, “When Nigeria does well, I cannot help but feel well. My happiness is tied to the happiness of Nigeria and when Nigerians break records and take the name of Nigeria to greater heights it exhilarates me.

“Thank you Wizkid for raising Nigeria’s flag high for the positive, not the negative. Your emergence as the Best International Act at the #MOBOAwards is a proud moment for Nigeria. And the fact that you emerged over JAY-Z and Drake makes it even more celebratory. WELL DONE.

ALSO READ: Former Nigerian President Goodluck Jonathan Blames Himself For PDP Failure In 2015

On his part, Ben Murray Bruce also described Wizkid’s feat as one of the proudest moments of his life .

He wrote on twitter “Dear @wizkidayo, I‘ve been in the entertainment business as an investor since 1980.

“One of my proudest moments for Nigerian music is the day you defeated both Jayz and @Drake, two of the biggest stars in the world, to win the Best international Act at the #MOBOAwards well done.”

Also Nigerian artiste Davido who also won big at MOBO Awards 2017 which held in Leeds at the First Direct Arena beat Wizkid, Maleek Berry, Mr Eazi and others to clinch the Best African Act award in this years edition.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *